No products in the cart.
Join American Hauntings near the Lake of the Ozarks in Missouri for an eerie night at the “Castle House” in Brumley. Built by a doctor in 1850, the house’s history includes two hospitals, a flu epidemic, and the Civil War. With scores of deaths in its past, it’s no surprise that it’s come to be regarded as one of the most haunted houses in the state!
The mansion – dubbed the “Castle House” because of the 30-foot rounded turret in front – was built by Dr. Walter and Martha Dixon in 1850. The design of the house had been inspired by a trip to England that the Dixons took a few years earlier. It took nearly two years to complete and, when finished, was one of the largest, grandest homes in the region.
Dr. Dixon had a thriving local practice and a portion of his home was used as his office and operating room. Between 1850 and 1954 (and more than one doctor), the second-floor doctor’s room served as the only hospital in the county and scores of locals were born and died in that room. Little is known about Martha Dixon, aside from her love of throwing large galas and balls in the parlor of the Castle House. Unfortunately, Martha died suddenly in 1901, the same evening of a large party that she had planned. Dr. Dixon died three years later from a massive heart attack in the house. After his death, the Castle was purchased by the town’s postmaster, a man named Nichols, but he failed to pay the taxes on time and lost the house.
The next owner was Dr. Myron Jones, who bought the house for $308 in back taxes and started his own medical practice there. He continued to use the house as his home and office until he retired in 1954.. Dr. Jones’ years at the Castle were marked by the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918, which saw as many as 20-30 patients dying at the Castle each day for weeks at a time. A makeshift field hospital had to be erected on the grounds and the dead were buried in a mass grave – which is said to be one of the most haunted spots on the property.
After Dr. Jones retired, the Castle went through a series of different owners and eventually fell into disrepair. By the early 2000s, it was abandoned and empty. Thieves and vandals ransacked the house, causing damage and stealing copper pipe and architectural pieces. Squatters moved in and further damaged the building. Then, in 2013, Nick and Marcy Sacco purchased the house and began an extensive restoration of the Castle. After more than a year of hard work, they opened it as a bed and breakfast. It didn’t take long for Nick and Marcy – along with their guests – to realize that the house was haunted.
Over the course of the past few years, numerous people have experienced strange happenings in the house – including disembodied footsteps, voices, whispers, cold spots, the feeling of being touched, and the sighting of apparitions. One of the most commonly reported spirits is that of Martha Dixon – who some call the “weeping woman – who has been seen on the staircase or in the parlor of the house.
There is also the spirit of Annie Hill, who was fatally injured in a fire in the 1920s. Her family rushed her to Dr. Dixon’s medical office, but there was nothing that he could do for her. She died in the house, and has never left it. To this day, her ghost is still spotted near the hospital room. Some claim to have seen her running in the hallway, skipping along as if playing a game, and have heard her childish laughter echoing in the quiet of the mansion.
We hope you’ll join us for an evening of history and hauntings as we go behind the doors of the Castle House and experience the lingering spirits of this magnificent house. This is your chance to not only be a part of the building’s rich history, but to discover what paranormal secrets still lay hidden in the darkest corners of the Castle.